Fire by Kristin Cashore

Rating: 9 out of 10
Summary: Taken from VOYA.

Across the mountains from the scene of Cashore’s first novel, Graceling, King Nash of The Dells clings to his throne through the skill of his military commander, younger brother Brigan.

The Dells are home to creatures called monsters, which resemble normal animals but for their brilliant coloration and their ability to enter others’ minds. The last human monster is Fire, named by her father Cansrel for her startling red hair. Advisor to King Nash’s father, Cansrel was widely feared and hated before his death, and Fire is glad to grow up quietly, far from the capital.

But war is about to engulf Fire as the desperate king, beset by rivals, enlists her mind-controlling skills in his kingdom’s defense. Complicating matters are the jealous protectiveness of Fire’s old friend and lover Archer and her attraction to cool, selfcontained Prince Brigan. In the background, somehow influencing events, stands a strange boy with two different-colored eyes and an ominous ability to cloud others’ minds.

My Thoughts: GAAAAAH I LOVED THIS ONE! I read it in one sitting, stayed up late in bed and everything. I very much enjoyed Graceling by Cashore, so I knew Fire was going to be a great read if not better.

It is hardest for me to write a review for the books I end up loving the best. All I can do is come up with blah blah gibberish about how much I liked it and how necessary it is for you to read it. Fire was adventurous, different, a little scary, absorbing, and romantic.

Gibberish gibberish READ IT

One thought on “Fire by Kristin Cashore”

  1. Hehehe. It’s so true that the ones you love most are the hardest to review. Coherently anyway. 🙂

    So happy this one was a winner for you. I am all kinds of crazy about it as you know.

Leave a comment